Telephonic appearances are generally authorized pursuant to California Rules of Court, rule 3.670. Pursuant to rule 3.670 (e) matters requiring personal appearance, except as permitted by the Court include the below listed matters.
Telephonic appearances are not allowed for these matters unless prior court authorization has been obtained:
- Trials, hearings and proceedings at which witnesses are expected to testify; (including small claims and unlawful detainer hearings).
- Hearings on temporary restraining orders.
- Mandatory Settlement Conferences.
- Trial Management Conferences; Issue Conferences.
- Hearings on motions in limine.
- Hearings on petitions to confirm the sale of property under the Probate Code.
- Persons ordered to appear to show cause why sanctions should not be imposed for violation of a court order or a rule.
- Persons ordered to appear in an order or citation issued under the Probate Code.
Civil Law and Family Law
Pursuant to Local Rule 7.02.00, any party wishing to appear telephonically for hearings, conferences and proceedings, listed as requiring a personal appearance in rule 3.670(e)(1)(A)-(F), rule 3.670(e)(2)(A)-(B) and rule 5.9(c)(1), must obtain prior approval from the judicial officer.
Parties must file Local Form M-52 Request for Telephonic Appearance at least twelve (12) court days before the hearing if the hearing, conference and proceeding requires a personal appearance and judicial approval.
If judicial approval has been previously granted for a hearing that is continued by the Court, or if approval for a telephonic appearance is granted by a judicial officer on the record and both parties are present in court, no further notice is required and Local Form M-52 does not need to be filed.
In order to appear telephonically for a child support hearing, parties must file Judicial Council Form FL-679 Request for Telephone Appearance at least twelve (12) court days before the hearing, except when seeking to appear telephonically for an emergency request hearing. Remote telephonic appearances are only allowed for some child support hearings and Court approval is required. Parties must file the appropriate form and obtain approval to appear telephonically.
Telephonic appearances are not permitted without prior written authorization from the judicial officer handling the case. Parties must file Local Form M-52 Request for Telephonic Appearance at least twelve (12) court days before the hearing. Telephonic appearances authorized by the judicial officer are not given preference on the calendar and the caller is required to remain on the line until their matter is called.
Telephonic Appearance Fee / Payment
Due to the covid-19 situation, the $30 late request fee has been waived until further notice.
Pursuant to California Rules of Court, rule 3.670(k)(1), the fee to appear by telephone is $94 for each appearance, unless waived by order of the Court.
A case with multiple hearings scheduled at the same time, on the same day, in the same department requires a single $94.00 appearance fee.
A case with multiple hearings scheduled at different times on the same day requires the $94.00 appearance fee for each scheduled hearing time.
The Court will accept American Express or Visa and Mastercard credit and debit cards only. The Court will NOT accept cash, paper checks or echecks. If a party has a fee waiver for the case, the telephonic appearance fee is waived.
Pursuant to California Rules of Court, rule 3.670(k)(2): An additional late request fee of $30.00 is to be charged for an appearance by telephone if the request to the vendor or the Court providing telephone services is not made at least two days before the scheduled appearance, except:
- When an opposing party has provided timely notice under (h)(4) on an ex parte application or other hearing, conference or proceeding, no late fee is to be charged to that party;
- When the Court, on its own motion, sets a hearing or conference on shortened time, no late fee is to be charged to any party;
- When the matter has a tentative ruling posted within the two day period, no late fee is to be charged to any party; and
- When the request to appear by telephone is made by a party that received notice of another party's intent to appear and afterward decides also to appear by telephone under (h)(2), no late fee is to be charged to that party if its request is made to the vendor or the court providing the service by noon on the court day before the hearing or conference.
- The Court reserves the right to audit scheduled appearances made online. If the court finds that the party has made a late appearance per California Rules of Court, rule 3.670 and a false selection was made, the party will be charged the additional $30 and may be referred to collections.
Following receipt of the payment, you will receive an email confirming your telephonic appearance. The confirmation will contain the toll-free dial-in for the telephonic appearance, a conference ID and a PIN. If you do not receive confirmation within two hours, call (530) 621-5080 for assistance. You will also receive an email reminder the day prior to the hearing.
Day of Appearance
Call the number stated in your email confirmation at least five minutes before your scheduled hearing time. When prompted, dial the conference ID and PIN stated on your confirmation. The clerk will check you in, and you will then wait until your case is called.
Issues Arising During the Scheduled Appearance
If any other issues arise during your appearance, please call (530) 621-5080. If you join the call while court is already in session, the clerk will be aware that you have joined the call due to your unique PIN. Please do not interrupt ongoing proceedings.
Cancellations and Refunds
Pursuant to California Rules of Court, rule 3.670(k)(3)), a fee of $5.00 will be charged if a party cancels a telephone appearance request and no telephone appearance is made. Failure to cancel and notify the Court will result in the forfeiture of the entire appearance fee.
For Hearings That Are Continued/Vacated on the Court’s Own Motion:
If the hearing is taken off calendar or continued by the Court, including pursuant to tentative ruling, it is not a cancellation under this rule and there is no charge for the telephone appearance. However, you must still cancel your appearance and request your refund. All cancellations must be completed online by 5:00 p.m. (Pacific Time) on the day before the hearing to receive a refund. If your hearing date is continued without being heard, you MUST cancel the original appearance date and reschedule/complete a new transaction for the continued date. Payments WILL NOT transfer to another date or appearance. Full refunds including the $5.00 fee will only be issued for cases that were canceled or continued by the court without being heard (not for cases where a hearing occurred and resulted in a continuance).
For Hearings That a Party Cancels or Requests a Continuance on, That is Not Heard by the Court:
You must cancel your appearance date in order to receive a refund. A fee of $5.00 will be deducted from your refund, pursuant to California Rules of Court, rule 3.670(l)(3). All cancellations must be completed online by 5:00 p.m. (Pacific Time) on the day before the hearing to receive a refund. You MUST cancel the original appearance date to obtain a refund, and complete a new transaction for the continued date (order a new vCourt appearance for your new date). Payments WILL NOT transfer to another date or appearance, nor will your telephonic appearance be scheduled unless you sign up for the new date.
Full refunds including the $5.00 fee will only be issued for cases that were canceled or continued by the Court without being heard (not for cases where a hearing occurred and resulted in a continuance).
For Hearings Where You Appear by Phone on Your Scheduled Date, and the Matter is Continued to Another Date, or Dropped:
If your hearing results in a continuance (you appear by phone and receive a new date), you must complete a new transaction if you wish to appear telephonically on the continued (new) date.
Provided you have canceled your appearance by 5:00 p.m. (Pacific Time) on the day before the hearing, a refund of $89.00 will be credited back to your account. If you feel you are also entitled to receive a refund of the $5.00 fee or a refund of any other fees, you must submit your request in writing to the Court at:
El Dorado Superior Court
ATTN: Telephonic Refunds
3321 Cameron Park Drive
Cameron Park CA 95682
Please include the case name and number, attorney name, address where refund should be sent, receipt number, original date of payment, amount of refund being requested and the reason for refund. Refund requests must be sent within 30 days of the original date of payment. Letters may include more than one case for which a refund is being requested. Any refunds resulting from a written request will be issued in the form of a check.
Continue to Schedule or Cancel Appearance
I agree to the above disclaimer and wish to schedule or cancel a Telephonic Appearance